This skill allows a character to use a one-handed “claw.” The base damage for a claw is two points. This skill only allows the use of one claw unless the character also has Florentine or Style Master, at which point the character can use either two claws or a claw and a weapon. All claws must be short sword length and must abide by all weapon construction rules. They must be covered with red colored tape.
You may use any skill requiring a weapon with the claw (such as Weapon Proficiency, Sleep-Paralysis Blow, etc.).
Claws cannot be silvered or strengthened by the Blacksmith skill. The claws may not be disarmed, shattered, stolen, confiscated, or destroyed.
Characters who are hit in their claws with weapons, bows, or arrows do not take damage from the attack. In this sense, claws are treated as weapons and can receive weapon coatings and be used with Blade spells.
The claws are retractable and can be retracted and activated without a count. The time it takes a player to acquire the phys reps out-of-game is the time it takes the character to activate the claws in-game. You are not allowed to call a Hold to retrieve your claws or to pick up a claw that you have dropped from your hand during combat. The time it takes you to obtain them is the time it takes you to be able to use them, just as if they had been "retracted." If there is no replacement available, then you cannot use the skill until a replacement is obtained.
Carrying a claw phys rep and a weapon phys rep in the same hand is not allowed.
Example: Aslahe the Cat Wylderkin, who has purchased the Claws skill, is in a battle and his sword is destroyed. He can then reach into his backpack and pull out his red phys reps to continue fighting, using them as claws, which cannot be destroyed. During the time he was getting the phys reps, he was completely in-game and could not call a Hold or refuse to take any damage that may have hit him. He will be calling “two normal” with his claws unless he has a skill like Weapon Proficiency, in which case he will call the appropriate damage. If hit with a Disarm spell, he will say “no effect” (unless he has a Spell Shield active, which would then be used up).
This skill is not the same thing as the monster ability Base Claw/Body Weaponry